Databases

EBMcalc is a computerized toolset encompassing a wide array of medical formulae, clinical criteria sets, and decision tree analysis tools. 

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary includes over 110,000 medical, pharmaceutical, and bioscience terms and 60,000+ audio pronunciations.

This online resource provides access to Stedman's Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms, and Symbols.

CultureGrams is a reference resource for cultural information. It contains primary-source reports on 209 countries and territories—including every United Nations member state—focusing on 25 cultural categories, including language, personal appearance, greetings, visiting, family, life cycle, and more.

ClinicalKey provides comprehensive and fast answers using an intuitive search method. A single search retrieves relevant information from 1,000+ full-text books, 500+ full-text journals, videos, graphs, guidelines, patient education library, drug publications, and Medline abstracts.  Provides CME credits.

A collection of ebooks from publisher EBSCO.

A collection of full-text e-books from Rittenhouse. 

Provides full-text medical and nursing books, dictionaries, coding books, laboratory diagnosis interpretation guides.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics. 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.

The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence-Based Practice Database provides systematic reviews that complement those found in the Cochrane Library. Published by the international not-for-profit research and development organization, it develops evidence in various formats for nursing, allied health, and medical professionals.  It also supports information for patients. 

Documents include:

• Evidence Summaries - literature reviews that summarize existing international literature on common healthcare interventions
• Evidence-Based Recommended Practices - databases of procedures that describe and/or recommend practice on various clinical topics
• Best Practice Information Sheets - series of information guideline sheets produced specifically for practicing health professionals
• Systematic Reviews - comprehensive systematic reviews of international research literature
• Consumer Information Sheets - standardized summaries for patients and other clients
• Systematic Review Protocols - developed by experts from more than 40 countries
• Technical Reports - documentation of all aspects of the development of Best Practice Information Sheets

Ovid HealthSTAR is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) MEDLINE. It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services, and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services, and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier database that contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and abroad.  Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences are some of the main concentrations of sources contained within MEDLINE.

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

The UpToDate system is an evidence-based clinical resource. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug interactions, and a number of medical calculators. UpToDate is written by over 7,100 physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers. It is available both via the Internet and offline on personal computers or mobile devices. 

A clinical reference tool for health care professionals. Provides clinically organized modules for over 200 conditions (common medical diagnoses, surgical procedures, admission types- i.e. critical care, rehabilitation, behavioral health, etc., and human response problems). Zynx Evidence is the only database currently integrated into the Plans of Care in the Epic EHR.

*Note: Access is only available on-site, remotely via Citrix Access Gateway, or within the EPIC environment. Not compatible with OpenAthens. 

The American College of Surgeons Online Video Library is the easiest, most innovative, and cost-efficient way to view the entire Collection of ACS-selected narrated surgical procedures. More than 2,000 videos are available in a wide selection of body systems and procedure types, with new videos added each year.
 

Available to surgeons on staff at Lee Health only. Request the log-in information from the Medical Library: medlibrary@leehealth.org

ClinicalKey provides comprehensive and fast answers using an intuitive search method. A single search retrieves relevant information from 1,000+ full-text books, 500+ full-text journals, videos, graphs, guidelines, patient education library, drug publications, and Medline abstracts.  Provides CME credits.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics. 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.

NEJM.org features enhanced search and navigation, specialty pages, interactive content and graphics, and integrated multimedia features. It includes institutional-level access to all content from 1990 to the present (over 31,000 NEJM articles containing more than 55,000 images, tables, video, and audio) on an easy-to-access digital platform.
◾Full-text access to ground-breaking original research, review articles, and all other content dating back to 1990
◾PowerPoint slide sets and downloadable images, figures, and videos for presentations and teaching
◾Over 90 high-quality instructional videos and hundreds of interactive, multimedia teaching and learning tools at NEJM.org

NEJM Journal Watch is a leading source for clinically relevant summaries and perspectives. Its team of physician-editors reviews and summarizes the most important research in over 135 journals and also provides clinical takeaways and perspectives on changing guidelines and clinical topics.

◾Full-text access to key research summaries and expert perspective in six specialties, including cardiology, general medicine, hospital medicine, infectious disease, neurology, oncology & hematology
◾19 email alerts, in a range of specialties and topics
◾“Guideline Watch” articles summarizing key points of clinical guidelines
◾Exclusive online media, including podcasts, blogs, and audio interviews

Ovid HealthSTAR is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) MEDLINE. It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services, and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services, and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier database that contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and abroad.  Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences are some of the main concentrations of sources contained within MEDLINE.

The BoardVitals for NCLEX-RN and CCRN test prep tool allows for decreased study time, with everything organized under one platform and the best questions to study listed upfront. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including a number of questions, subjects, and more. Also included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources. 

Register today by visiting:

https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_up

Use your @leehealth.org e-mail address to register. If you are not using an institutional e-mail, please make sure to do the initial sign-up from a networked computer. After the initial sign-up is completed, you can sign in and use BoardVitals from anywhere using any device. Or, ask your Medical Librarian for more details.

Note: for optimal performance, this resource is best used with Firefox or Chrome.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature offers fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons. Besides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL, it also contains continuing education modules; evidence-based sheets; quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions, and research instruments.

ClinicalKey provides comprehensive and fast answers using an intuitive search method. A single search retrieves relevant information from 1,000+ full-text books, 500+ full-text journals, videos, graphs, guidelines, patient education library, drug publications, and Medline abstracts.  Provides CME credits.

"An evidence-based, multi-database drug search engine that provides summary and in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions."

Mobile app available for Android and iOS.
 

Provides full-text medical and nursing books, dictionaries, coding books, laboratory diagnosis interpretation guides.

The UpToDate system is an evidence-based clinical resource. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug interactions, and a number of medical calculators. UpToDate is written by over 7,100 physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers. It is available both via the Internet and offline on personal computers or mobile devices. 

The BoardVitals for NCLEX-RN and CCRN test prep tool allows for decreased study time, with everything organized under one platform and the best questions to study listed upfront. With BoardVitals, you have the ability to create customized practice tests using many options including a number of questions, subjects, and more. Also included are detailed, up-to-date explanations with each answer, with references and links to applicable sources. 

Register today by visiting:

https://www.boardvitals.com/users/sign_up

Use your @leehealth.org e-mail address to register. If you are not using an institutional e-mail, please make sure to do the initial sign-up from a networked computer. After the initial sign-up is completed, you can sign in and use BoardVitals from anywhere using any device. Or, ask your Medical Librarian for more details.

Note: for optimal performance, this resource is best used with Firefox or Chrome.

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature offers fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lessons. Besides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL, it also contains continuing education modules; evidence-based sheets; quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions, and research instruments.

The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence-Based Practice Database provides systematic reviews that complement those found in the Cochrane Library. Published by the international not-for-profit research and development organization, it develops evidence in various formats for nursing, allied health, and medical professionals.  It also supports information for patients. 

Documents include:

• Evidence Summaries - literature reviews that summarize existing international literature on common healthcare interventions
• Evidence-Based Recommended Practices - databases of procedures that describe and/or recommend practice on various clinical topics
• Best Practice Information Sheets - series of information guideline sheets produced specifically for practicing health professionals
• Systematic Reviews - comprehensive systematic reviews of international research literature
• Consumer Information Sheets - standardized summaries for patients and other clients
• Systematic Review Protocols - developed by experts from more than 40 countries
• Technical Reports - documentation of all aspects of the development of Best Practice Information Sheets

Ovid Emcare is a nursing and allied health database that provides access to 3,700 international, currently indexed, peer-reviewed journals, with up to 250,000 records added each year. It provides coverage across all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency, and critical care medicine.

Nursing & Allied Health Premium provides comprehensive and multi-media coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Research and learning information is presented from leading scholarly and trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.

*Note: if working remotely, you will need to authenticate yourself in order to view the content. When prompted select "More access options" and then click on "Use OpenAthens login".

The database focuses on providing information regarding Lactation Risk Categories. Users may search up-to-date drug information on over 1,300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, and syndromes, including herbals, prescription, OTC, and street drugs such as ibuprofen, doxycycline, oxycodone, and more.

*Note: Access is only available on-site or remotely via Citrix Access Gateway. Not compatible with OpenAthens. 

"An evidence-based, multi-database drug search engine that provides summary and in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions."

Mobile app available for Android and iOS.